The Minister of Youth and Sports, Hon. Dr. Mustapha Ahmed has inaugurated a 28-member International Games Management Committee (IGMC) for the All Africa Games at a brief ceremony at the Accra Sports Stadium Press Centre.

Speaking before the inauguration, the Minister said public expectation of good performance from our sporting activities was high and therefore it is the hope of all that the work of the committee would have a positive impact on Ghana’s participation in the All Africa Games to revive the waning hope of the sporting fraternity.

The Minister drew the attention of the committee to Ghana’s poor performances in both the 2011 Maputo Games and the 2014 World Cup in Brazil which he said should be important landmarks that must guide their actions.

“The task ahead of us may be arduous but not insurmountable and we all know the ramifications if we live up to expectations. I would therefore urge all of us to give our maximum and unconditional support to the committee to enable them to deliver” he said.

Dr. Mustapha Ahmed said Team Ghana will be participating in twenty-two(22) disciplines; Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Boxing, Beach Volley, Fencing, Cycling, Football, Gymnastics and Handball. The rest are Judo, Karate-Do, and Table Tennis, Sports for the Disabled, Swimming, Taekwondo, Tennis, Volleyball, Weightlifting, Wrestling, Bowling and Rugby.

After the swearing-in of the committee he charged them to ensure victory in most of the disciplines if not in all and said it was his firm conviction that the committee would be the ‘ new vessel for the water that will end our victory drought’.

The committee is made up of; Prof. Francis Dodoo(Athletics) , Nestor.P Galley(Badminton), Mohammed Shanoon(Cycling), Rev. Cornelius Adja-Coffie(Disabled Sports) and, Mohammed Mahadi(Fencing).
Others are; Oti Akenten( ), Emmanuel Tetteh(Judo), Melvin Brown(Karate-Do) , Herbert Mensah(Rugby), Theophilus Wilson Edzie(Swimming), Mawuko Afadzinu(Table Tennis), Frank Famiye(Taekwon-Do), JusticeE.Y.Obimpeh(Tennis), Paul Achoe(Volleyball) and Ben Nunoo- Mensah(Weightlifting),
The rest are; Otor Plahar(Head of PR,MoYS), Osei-Agyen(Director of Sports,MoYS) , Prosper Apasu(Director of Finance,MoYS), Alice Obeng(Min. of Finance), Dr. Deborah Cubadzie(GOC ), Joe Kpenge(Director-General,NSA), Saka Acquaye,(Dep.Director-General. Technical,NSA), Abdullai Musah(Dep.Director-General,Admin.NSA), Rev. Otoo(Chief Accountant,NSA), and Frederica Mensah-Davies((Head of PR ,NSA).

Speaking on behalf of the committee after the inauguration, the Chairman, Mr. Joe Kpenge thanked the Minister for the trust reposed in them and assured him that they would ensure that Ghana’s participation in the games comes off successfully.