An eleven-member Board for the National Sports Authority (NSA) has been sworn-in by the Minister for Youth and Sports, Hon. Mahama Ayariga at a short ceremony held in Accra on Friday 16th January, 2015.

The board is chaired by Mr Alhassan Ligbi. Other members are Mr. Seth Osei-Agyen; Mr Joe Kpenge;   Hajia Zenabu Sulemana Akotoh; Lt. Colonel Maxwell Bediako; and Chief Superintendent Hamza Ayikambe Yakubu.

The rest are Hon. Kwame Agbodza; Mr Roger Brown; Mr Frank Yaw Badohu; Mr. James Kweku Asante and Mr Enoch Amartey.

Hon. Ayariga charged the Board to spearhead the promotion and development of sports in the country adding that the NSA had full powers to regulate and coordinate sports, and called on the Board to utilize those powers effectively.

He assured the members of the Ministry of Youth and Sports’ full support in pursuant of their official duties.

Speaking on behalf of the newly sworn-in Board, Mr Ligbi thanked the Ministry for the privilege in serving the country and stated that they will soon roll out a comprehensive programme that will have a special focus on the youth in first and second cycle schools across the country.

DSC_1598 DSC_1618

Source: ISD (Larry George Botchway)